GCMA Scotland

The Scottish Region holds the following events annually;

  • Annual General Meeting held on the third Thursday in February each year.  These meetings are hosted on alternate years by Bruntsfield Links Golfing Society in Edinburgh and Haggs Castle Golf Club in Glasgow.  The meetings are followed by a dinner to which a guest speaker customarily proposes a toast to the Association.  Association members may bring guests who must be actively involved in the running of their clubs.
  • Four committee meetings per year.  These are timed according to the requirements of the Region are hosted by various clubs to suit the travelling distance of members attending.
  • Captains Dinner which is held at the Carlton George hotel in Glasgow in the second week in January.  The dinner is preceded by a committee meeting which is then followed by a small drinks reception and dinner.  This dinner provides the opportunity to recognise the efforts of the committee members and the sponsors who support the Region.  Each attendee may invite their partner to attend.
  • Two regional seminars, one held in the spring and one in the autumn.  The autumn one is held at Gleneagles hotel and the spring one (currently) proposed to alternate between Murrayshall and Spey Valley resorts.  This will allow easier access to attendees considering the geographical spread of the region.  The format of these seminars is usually three/four presentations in the morning, snack lunch and complimentary golf in the afternoon.  Small prizes are awarded for the golf.
  • Spring, Summer and Autumn golf meetings.  Each has its own scratch and handicap prizes and the summer one (based on the recent change of format) separate Ladies and Gents Trophies.  There are aggregate prizes for Spring and Autumn and also over sixty categories.
  • Regional matches against;
    • BIGGA (twelve per side)
    • Northern Area of England (twelve per side)
    • North Area of Scotland (ten per side)
    • Edinburgh and Lothians Past Captains (twenty per side)
    • England (sixteen per side)
    • Ireland (twelve per side)
    • Clubmasters (twenty per side)

Each of these matches are hosted alternately on an annual basis.  Details of the dates and venues for all events are issued early in the year and members invited to indicate their interest.  Following receipt of these returns the Captain and Regional Secretary choose the teams.

Within the region, the North Area also holds golfing events in the Spring and Autumn.

  • A Millennium match which is held every four years (commencing in the year 2000).  This match is contested on a round robin format by teams of six from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.  Each country takes a turn at hosting the matches at three different clubs in close proximity to each other.  The principle is that the teams are made up from former National Past Captains.  Those regions who cannot field this number of National Past Captains may supplement their team as they see fit.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.