GCMA Scotland

2013 Match between GCMA Scottish region and the ELPC

This match took place at Baberton Golf Club on Thursday 1st August 2013.

Regular readers will know that the match last year had to move to Bruntsfield Links as the new clubhouse at Baberton was under construction.

Keith Nicholson the host Secretary proudly showed off his new home to the assembled teams and what a gem it is.  A grand two storey building with a balcony overlooking the course (but thankfully not directly overlooking the final green).

The reconfigured golf course had those feeble minded of us meandering around like lost sheep but at least the pace of play was kept up as we were scared to lose the group in front in case we lost our way.  The course is still undergoing redevelopment but it won't be long before it is back to the Baberton we have enjoyed playing for many years.  We wish the members every success for the future.

The weather held fine and after a few tweeks to the draw to cater for late withdrawals and a snack lunch, battle commenced.

The results were as follows;

  E & L Past Captains     GCMA
Match Player H/C Club Result Player H/C Club
1 Tom Gowan   President 0 1 Keith Nicholson +2 Baberton
  Ian McDonald   Kingsknowe     Rory Davidson   Dunbar
2 Tom Paterson   Snr V P 0 1 David Moir 12 Cathkin Braes
  George Wither   Swanston     Tom Kelly 10 Unattached
3 Douglas Armstorng   Jnr VP 1 0 Eddie Comerford 3 Unattached
  Ian Printy   Council     Alasdair Miller 11 Dumfries & Gall.
4 David Thomson   Murrrayfield 0 1 Chris Spencer 5 North Berwick
  Andy Lamb   Swanston     John Masterton   Liberton
5 Andrew Douglas   Haddington 0 1 Gerry Flannigan 7 Bathgate
  Tom Dow   Kingsknowe     Alan Feltham 12 Bruntsfield links
6 Bob Dow   Linlithgow 1 0 Dougie Neave 7 Retired
  Jim Dees   Bass Rock     Tom Cummings 12 Kirkintilloch
7 George Edington   Prestonfield 0 1 Barry Knowles 8 Musselburgh
  Mev Welsh   Prestonfield     Ian Murchison 12 Retired
8 Tom Conlan   Newbattle 0 1 Bernard Flockhart 8 Retired
  Brian MacNair   Haddington     Ronald Graham 12 Retired
9 Alex McRostie   Council 1 0 David Weaver   Retired
  Gordon Bonnington   Council     David Cooper 18 Retired
10 Ian Ritchie   Secretary 1 0 Allan Osborne 9 Regional Sec.
      Result 4 6      

The photograph shows Tom Gowan, President of the ELPC presenting the trophy to Immediate Past Captain of the GCMA Scottish Region, Barry Knowles.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.